Tour of the House

This is my Living in Montaigu blog series. Please check out the first post in my series to learn more!

I thought it would be fun to share some pictures and give you a quick tour of the house…It is a beautiful old house built in 1874. This first picture should look familiar from my very first blog post.

IMG_3150

I’ll start with a few pictures from my favorite place in the house… the kitchen. Naturally, we spend a lot of time here.

IMG_2943

IMG_2630

IMG_2632

I love coffee and I drink a lot of it… Thank goodness for this wonderful little Nespresso machine.

IMG_2975

I also love tea! As you can see, Sophie has quite the collection of tea (all different varieties and several green tea blends). This is her favorite brand. It is very popular in France.

IMG_2960

The next three pictures are of the dining room. So far, I’ve only had dinner in here once.

IMG_3143

IMG_2773

IMG_2772

This is the grand entry way or foyer. There are four separate doors here which all lead to a different room or area of the first floor. Needless to say, this led to some confusion during my first week here.

The next several pictures are all taken on the first floor.

IMG_2775

IMG_2777

IMG_2776

IMG_2770

IMG_2781

IMG_2782

All of the bedrooms are on the second floor. I will share some pictures of the girls’ fairy tale-like bedrooms in another post. On the third floor, there are three guest rooms and a playroom. Here are two pictures from one of the guest rooms.

IMG_2939

IMG_2940

And finally, here are a few pictures of another guest room, my bedroom.

2- bedroom

7- bedroom

10 - bathoom

In the basement, is the laundry room and the wine cellar, or as the French call it, the wine “cave.” Olivier has an extremely impressive collection.  In fact, a few weekends ago we had a bottle of wine from 1997. (That’s a 17 year-old bottle of wine!) I will have to ask Olivier to share his wine knowledge and expertise with me so that I can blog about it and share some pictures. Well, I think that’s enough pictures for one post. See you later!!

Leave a Reply

